Five Great Quotations about ‘Show Don’t Tell’
Four Writing Prompts: Tracked Down

Consider using The Journey for a mythic plot

One of the 13516251_10153484918015216_863985451437949994_nmost common plot forms in modern fantasy and science fiction novels is the mythic structure. Often called a quest, in the mythic structure the protagonist undertakes an expedition that carries some moral significance or deeper meaning. Typically our hero seeks some definitive object, which usually is symbolic of some abstract moral ideal; this object sometimes is referred to as a grail, a treasure or an elixir and in modern stories often is called a grail substitute.

The prototype quest is Homer’s “Odyssey”; indeed, most ancient Greek hero myths follow this structure. It often can be found in many other historical epic works, though, particularly the King Arthur tales. Today, “The Lord of the Rings” and “Star Wars: A New Hope” closely follow this structure.

Joseph Campbell has outlined 12 steps in such mythic stories; he calls this process The Journey. Anyone planning to write a quest story would do well to read Campbell’s works. The steps include:
Ordinary world – The hero’s mundane world is revealed
Call to adventure – Hero is presented with a problem/challenge/adventure to undertake
Refusal of the call – Hero refuses to accept this call or to go on the journey
Mentor meeting – A mentor prepares hero to go on the journey (and surreptitiously to accept the call)
Crossing the threshold – Hero commits to the adventure
Test/allies/enemies – Hero encounters new challenges and learns the rule of the road
Approach to the Inmost Cave – Hero at edge of dangerous place, usually villains’ lair
Supreme Ordeal – Hero’s fortunes hit bottom, meaning he may not survive
Reward – Hero takes possession of a treasure (e.g. elixir/grail substitute)
Road back – Hero deals with consequences of confronting dark forces
Resurrection – Death/darkness have one last chance to defeat hero
Return with elixir – Hero returns with a treasure or lesson

In modern novels, these 12 steps typically are overlaid onto the standard five-part plot. The ordinary world is in the inciting incident in which we learn of the hero’s displeasure with some condition of his existence; this condition can only be corrected through possession of the grail/treasure. The call to adventure through the road back is the rising action; often the call to adventure through the crossing the threshold occur within a couple of chapters while the test/allies/enemies is lengthened to be the bulk of the book consisting of several smaller scenes. The resurrection actually is the climax because the hero’s defeat of death/darkness ensures his possession of the grail/treasure. The return with elixir is the falling action and denouement, though in a mythic structure it can be a bit longer than in the standard novel.

Need an editor? Having your book, business document or academic paper proofread or edited before submitting it can prove invaluable. In an economic climate where you face heavy competition, your writing needs a second eye to give you the edge. I can provide that second eye.


Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been saved. Comments are moderated and will not appear until approved by the author. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.


Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear until the author has approved them.

Your Information

(Name is required. Email address will not be displayed with the comment.)